PDA

View Full Version : Hoping for a Segway

NotQuiteCode3
05-09-2008, 11:43 AM
I live on the former Fort Ord, where I also work as an Office Manger. Part of the Fort is a university now, and I work in the department that plans and builds the campus.

I drive just under 3 miles to work. There is a bike lane all the way, and no traffic signals. Could there be a better Segway opportunity than that? As I drive to work I see myself in the bike lane, gliding. Then I see those mysterious dirt roads that go off through the oak trees into the wilderness areas and wonder what sights I would see if I left the bike lane.

My husband was not happy when I told him I would like to have a Segway. He thinks I would be safer inside a car than flying through the air standing on two wheels holding nothing but a stick.

I've booked us for the Sonoma, CA Segway tour next week. I'm hoping that the experience might win him over. I would LOVE to come home with TWO Segways, a real possibility since there is a dealership in Oakland! Woo-hoo!

Lynn

bmaphies
05-09-2008, 05:24 PM
Get your husband on that test glide and he'll most likely be hooked. A Segway is as safe as a bicycle (my opinion), just wear a helmet and get some clip-on blinking lights for your rear end.

Five-Flags
05-09-2008, 05:46 PM
Over in this neck of the woods (what woods?), a Code 3 is a cardiac arrest!

Of course if hubby says "No", HE might be in peril!!:eek::eek::eek::D

jrwilcox
05-09-2008, 06:09 PM
There is also a dealer in Pacifica. It is misnamed Segway of SF.

Jim

jgbackes
05-09-2008, 06:14 PM
And you are welcome to come up to Ponderosa park on the 18th to watch segway polo. We always have extra Segways.

Map to Ponderosa Park (http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&hl=en&geocode=7501095703801628654,37.361988,-122.009580&saddr=Monterey+CA&daddr=Ponderosa+Ave+%4037.361988,+-122.009580&mra=pe&mrcr=0&mrsp=1&sz=16&sll=37.361971,-122.009633&sspn=0.011222,0.026779&ie=UTF8&z=9)

quade
05-09-2008, 11:25 PM