SegwayChat
Home . Old Gallery

Go Back   SegwayChat > Segway Forums > Segway General Discussion

Notices

Segway General Discussion General discussion related to any model of Segways, miniPROs, or Ninebots. Please do not post non-Segway technology posts here; use the technology forum instead.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2012, 10:16 PM   #11
GlideGuy
Member
GlideGuy will become famous soon enough
 
GlideGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 161
5 yr Member HT/PT Owner
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by felix_fetche View Post
so,
i resoldered the battery connectors of the CU boards, booth, still fail, same way.
swap the CU boards, all the same behaviour.

please take a look at the video i`ve recorded for more acuracy of failure description. a foto or a video allways more tha thousand words.
i can post another video with CU boards at starting to see LED light secventioning.

Your video shows the red wrench screen with all parameter sections on (full circle). According to the manual, this indicates a fault that is located in the platform. The first step it prescribes isvto check the two connectors. The second step is to reseat both batteries. The last step is to contact Segway customer care.

Beyond the recommendations in the manual, I would also suggest checking the mat and the 4 buttons underneath to be sure none of them are stuck.
GlideGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 12:17 AM   #12
dale@thecoys.net
Senior Member
dale@thecoys.net will become famous soon enough
 
dale@thecoys.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Posts: 1,217
5 yr Member
Default

Well, he said earlier that he did all of that:

Quote:
Originally Posted by felix_fetche View Post
hi,
it was the farst action to refit batteries, and next step to swap them.
also all the cables between CU`s<->CSB and CSB<->handlebar i cleaned well with contact spray... same bahaviour.

tomorrow morning i will swap CU boards.
!
Also, as I recall, there's a specific error display about "rider detect"

My wild guess is that it's battery technology, but an answer from him is needed.
dale@thecoys.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:01 AM   #13
felix_fetche
Member
felix_fetche is on a distinguished road
 
felix_fetche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baia Mare, Romania.
Posts: 166
5 yr Member
Default

the seller sold the batteries separately, of courese the chemistry was lithium revision AF.

hard to beleive that the maschine is accepting NiMh only.

verry interesting that for one second starts okay.
for example if i disconect one wire from any of the RST from motors, the sequence with green display is disapearing.
i will check wits osciloscope each of the four RST windings signals in the instance when sounds like runing properly.
if i may own at least one CU board for a check.
or to search the fail in CSB or handlebar electronics?
felix_fetche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:18 AM   #14
felix_fetche
Member
felix_fetche is on a distinguished road
 
felix_fetche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baia Mare, Romania.
Posts: 166
5 yr Member
Default

one interesting thing theat i discovered is that the key is paired not with CU board, is paired with BSA. same thing in gen2 seg`s. i can tell from my experience you can take for example one front CU from one i2 and reseat it in your i2 in rear position and will run okay, but the mileage will be the valuae from the imported one.
at i2 the mileage stays in booth CU but the displayed value is is readed from the rear CU. i make all posible combinations with CU`s on i2, everytime i2 starts with any CU in any position, single parts wich cannot be mixed are [radioboard<>infokey<>BSA].
same thing in gen1, [ibutton<>BSA].
so if someone here can sell me one pice or one pair of tested CU, i`m interested to buy.
thanks!
felix_fetche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:43 AM   #15
felix_fetche
Member
felix_fetche is on a distinguished road
 
felix_fetche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baia Mare, Romania.
Posts: 166
5 yr Member
Default

to retun to the batteries, i bought the XT without batteries, but i have five batteries lithium revision AF all of them tested and running okay on i2 vehicle.
any combination i`m doing with thoes five pieces, the vehicle returns the same behaviour like you se in the video.
i will post another video to see the sequence of led`s on CU boards.
felix_fetche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 11:29 AM   #16
dale@thecoys.net
Senior Member
dale@thecoys.net will become famous soon enough
 
dale@thecoys.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Posts: 1,217
5 yr Member
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by felix_fetche View Post
hard to beleive that the maschine is accepting NiMh only.
From http://www.segway-madrid.com/persona...thium_ion.html

"Q. When will lithium-ion battery packs be available for purchase as an accessory?
It is expected that lithium-ion battery packs will be made available for purchase as accessory for existing owners in the summer of 2005. Purchase of the battery packs will require a software upgrade."

So, if your "Segway" was manufactured before that time, and has not had the software upgrade, then that might be the explanation.

Given the way your "Segway" came together, I do not find that hard to believe. However, perhaps you will find another reason.
dale@thecoys.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 11:31 AM   #17
dale@thecoys.net
Senior Member
dale@thecoys.net will become famous soon enough
 
dale@thecoys.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Posts: 1,217
5 yr Member
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by felix_fetche View Post
to retun to the batteries, i bought the XT without batteries,.
It's an XT? [Footnote for those casually reading this thread - it's usually easy to tell if it's an XT, but perhaps not in this case]

If you are sure that it is an XT, then it's not a problem with battery technology (software upgrade) - at least as far as I know. I believe that all XTs shipped with Lithium batteries, and therefore the required software.

Last edited by dale@thecoys.net; 12-27-2012 at 02:11 PM..
dale@thecoys.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 07:07 PM   #18
felix_fetche
Member
felix_fetche is on a distinguished road
 
felix_fetche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baia Mare, Romania.
Posts: 166
5 yr Member
Default

it was with lithium revision AF.
felix_fetche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 01:55 AM   #19
dale@thecoys.net
Senior Member
dale@thecoys.net will become famous soon enough
 
dale@thecoys.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Posts: 1,217
5 yr Member
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by felix_fetche View Post
it was with lithium revision AF.
What was? Please explain - I do not understand your comment.

You already said you bought it without batteries.

I asked if you are sure that the platform is an XT. [If you are sure, please tell us how you know]
dale@thecoys.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 07:11 AM   #20
felix_fetche
Member
felix_fetche is on a distinguished road
 
felix_fetche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baia Mare, Romania.
Posts: 166
5 yr Member
Default

the seller sold the batt packs separately to other auctioner.
the pack he used was lithium saphion revision AF. exactly like
i have here five pieces. XT is designed from factory to work also with lithium ones.
felix_fetche is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:08 AM.
Copyright 2002-2020 SegwayChat.org.
All rights reserved. Not affiliated with Segway Inc.

FreshBlue vBulletin skin by
VayaDesign
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SegwayChat Archive