SegwayChat
Home . Old Gallery

Go Back   SegwayChat > Segway Forums > Segway General Discussion

Notices

Segway General Discussion General discussion related to any model of Segways, miniPROs, or Ninebots. Please do not post non-Segway technology posts here; use the technology forum instead.

Old 12-21-2012, 02:28 AM   #1
felix_fetche
Member
felix_fetche is on a distinguished road
 
felix_fetche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baia Mare, Romania.
Posts: 166
5 yr Member
Default ERROR in Gen1 blinks red with circle and wrench

i have gen1 segway wich starts like normaly for one second then turns into red blincking showing the entire circle with the wrench at right, together with the specific sound of fault.

what could be the origin of the fault ? i need help.
thanks!
felix_fetche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 10:45 AM   #2
dale@thecoys.net
Senior Member
dale@thecoys.net will become famous soon enough
 
dale@thecoys.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Posts: 1,217
5 yr Member
Default

Have you checked the cable connections, and swapped batteries?

Also see: http://forums.segwaychat.org/showthread.php?t=27637
dale@thecoys.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 12:36 PM   #3
felix_fetche
Member
felix_fetche is on a distinguished road
 
felix_fetche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baia Mare, Romania.
Posts: 166
5 yr Member
Default

hi,
it was the farst action to refit batteries, and next step to swap them.
also all the cables between CU`s<->CSB and CSB<->handlebar i cleaned well with contact spray... same bahaviour.

tomorrow morning i will swap CU boards.
i my mind is flickerin one ideea,... maybe battery conectors of CU boards are with soldering problems. the solder may crack from vibrations. i will resolder them.

keep you informed...
saga will continue!!!
felix_fetche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 02:01 PM   #4
infinitronics
Junior Member
infinitronics is on a distinguished road
 
infinitronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 80
5 yr Member HT/PT Owner
Default

I've had similar issues on my three machines, gen 1 and gen 2.

All were "fixed" by removing the batteries and then ever so slightly bending the data pins on the batteries off center. This tightens and even burnishes the connections between the Segway CU boards and the batteries when they are reattached.

Contact cleaner can also sparingly be used to further clean the connections by installing and removing the batteries several times to burnish the connections.

I'm sure there are skeptics out there, but this has worked for all three of my machines.

YMMV...
infinitronics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 05:00 PM   #5
dale@thecoys.net
Senior Member
dale@thecoys.net will become famous soon enough
 
dale@thecoys.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Posts: 1,217
5 yr Member
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by infinitronics View Post
I've had similar issues on my three machines, gen 1 and gen 2.

All were "fixed" by removing the batteries and then ever so slightly bending the data pins on the batteries off center. This tightens and even burnishes the connections between the Segway CU boards and the batteries when they are reattached.

Contact cleaner can also sparingly be used to further clean the connections by installing and removing the batteries several times to burnish the connections.

I'm sure there are skeptics out there, but this has worked for all three of my machines.

YMMV...
I have no doubt that your method can fix some "battery faults" caused by poor data connections.

In the case mentioned here, it's not a battery fault. The display indicates otherwise, and the OP has swapped batteries with no change of symptoms.
dale@thecoys.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 05:45 PM   #6
infinitronics
Junior Member
infinitronics is on a distinguished road
 
infinitronics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 80
5 yr Member HT/PT Owner
Default

The problem isn't with the batteries themselves, but with the connectors on the CU boards.

My i2 was sold to me throwing an E042 error no matter what batteries were put on the machine, new, swapped, or whatever. After performing this 'trick' on the batteries and using them to burnish the connectors on the CU boards, the i2 has performed flawlessly for the last 300 miles.

My X2 was sold to me having 'bad batteries'. The battery level meter would jump from 'full' to near 'empty' very quickly. Again, after performing this 'fix', that machine has also worked perfectly.

My i167 was throwing the red display + wrench like the OP. After again doing the 'fix', the machine started right up and worked fine. It does have a weak battery, but no more wrench icon on the display.

-i
infinitronics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 10:27 AM   #7
felix_fetche
Member
felix_fetche is on a distinguished road
 
felix_fetche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baia Mare, Romania.
Posts: 166
5 yr Member
Default

so,
i resoldered the battery connectors of the CU boards, booth, still fail, same way.
swap the CU boards, all the same behaviour.

please take a look at the video i`ve recorded for more acuracy of failure description. a foto or a video allways more tha thousand words.
i can post another video with CU boards at starting to see LED light secventioning.

felix_fetche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:23 AM   #8
dale@thecoys.net
Senior Member
dale@thecoys.net will become famous soon enough
 
dale@thecoys.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Posts: 1,217
5 yr Member
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by felix_fetche View Post
i have gen1 segway wich starts like normaly for one second then turns into red blincking showing the entire circle with the wrench at right, together with the specific sound of fault.
Just checking -- are you saying that this Segway with this set of batteries has started properly in the past? When, and under what conditions, did it quit?
dale@thecoys.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:44 AM   #9
felix_fetche
Member
felix_fetche is on a distinguished road
 
felix_fetche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Baia Mare, Romania.
Posts: 166
5 yr Member
Default

i dont know, i bought the platform from ebay.

http://www.ebay.de/itm/Segway-Gen-1-...item35c2283c96

http://www.ebay.de/itm/Segway-CSB-Ki...item35c1f7d3d9

http://www.ebay.de/itm/230887540599?...84.m1497.l2649

all parts are from one single maschine.
seller says is all functional, i asked him befor to get in auction.

anyhow i have two pairs + one extra, i mean 5 batteryes, all tested.
felix_fetche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 01:37 PM   #10
dale@thecoys.net
Senior Member
dale@thecoys.net will become famous soon enough
 
dale@thecoys.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Posts: 1,217
5 yr Member
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by felix_fetche View Post
i dont know, i bought the platform from ebay.
.
So, you never saw it start correctly?

Did the batteries come from the same seller? What technology are the batteries?

It is really really really hard for us to "have a clue" if we don't know the entire situation. And we waste a lot of time asking questions.

..and making guesses. For instance, I "guess" I know what the problem is.

Last edited by dale@thecoys.net; 12-24-2012 at 05:26 PM..
dale@thecoys.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:12 AM.
Copyright 2002-2020 SegwayChat.org.
All rights reserved. Not affiliated with Segway Inc.

FreshBlue vBulletin skin by
VayaDesign
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SegwayChat Archive