SegwayChat
Home . Old Gallery

Go Back   SegwayChat > Other Topics > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion Miscellaneous topics and for general social, non-Segway discussions.

Old 12-03-2011, 10:06 PM   #1
segsurfer
segsurfer is a name known to allsegsurfer is a name known to allsegsurfer is a name known to allsegsurfer is a name known to allsegsurfer is a name known to allsegsurfer is a name known to all

5 yr Member HT/PT Owner Segway Polo Player SegwayFest Attendee
Default So I drove a Chevy Volt yesterday...

I didn't drive it very far as I'm still a relatively inexperienced driver, and it had been several months since the last time I had driven. Not to mention, I was filled with a paralyzing fear of crashing my friend's brand-new car; but once I overcame that fear, I was filled with a sense of utter joy. Not unlike the same feeling I had when I first rode a Segway. Out of the handful of cars I've driven (a 2005 Dodge Magnum, a 1991 Jeep Wrangler, a 2006 mini cooper s convertible with the supercharger, a 2005 Ford Expedition, and a 1973 MGB) the volt was hands-down the best. Now admittedly, I am a car buff, and while I've only driven a handful of cars, I've ridden in virtually every thing you can imagine, from exotics, all the way down to little British sports cars. In my opinion, the volt somehow manages to pass them all. I guess the thing that impressed me most about it was that it was able to take something as mundane as your average commuter econobox, in turn it into a truly enjoyable experience. because the battery pack is situated right in the middle of the car, running along the center tunnel, the weight is well distributed throughout the vehicle and the center of gravity is quite low, leading you to believe that if you're driving a sportier vehicle than you actually are. to put it simply, I went in to the driving experience of the volt, expecting to mock it and to write it off is simply another Prius. But I left the volt with a Segway smile.