SegwayChat
Home . Old Gallery

Go Back   SegwayChat > Segway Forums > Special Needs, Mobility and Disabled Use

Notices

Special Needs, Mobility and Disabled Use Information and discussion for those with special needs interested in the Segway.

Old 02-16-2003, 11:37 PM   #1
SegwayLongIsland
SegwayLongIsland is an unknown quantity at this point

5 yr Member
Default Segways for Patients

I’ve got an idea and I’d like some opinions. I followed the Segway like most on this board since its mere mention 2 years ago, ordered one the very first day and although I haven’t tried it yet, my training is days this weekend.

Although DK has been a medical engineer his whole adult life, has anyone talked or mentioned using HTs for patients with ambulatory problems?

I’m a family physician and I can think of a heck of a lot of my patients who will benefit from this!!

As we get older, the size of the world we travel in becomes progressively smaller until in our later years we become limited to very short distances from home and eventually become... homebound.

Besides advancing age, diseases can contribute to shrinking our world. Respiratory and cardiac diseases such as Emphysema, Chronic Bronchitis, Angina, etc. can limit our walking capacity due to shortness of breath or chest pain.

Osteoarthritis patients often complain that the effort and pain of walking can limit their ability to travel within the community, even thought they can stand and balance.

For all these patients, it is not standing...but the work of walking that limits them and their mobility.

I’m thinking of putting my Segway in my office (when not on it!) and doing demo rides on say, Tuesday nights, for patients I think might be helped. There are a lot of patients in my community that are beyond a car and its problems of cost, repair, parking, etc. yet they are
active enough to stand on a Segway. They aren’t handicapped enough to need a wheelchair (sorry Dean, Ibot) but walking alone is too much.