PDA

View Full Version : new generation cars

student
02-11-2005, 08:38 AM
hi everybody
i am a post graduate student
doing my project on regenerator of stirling engine
stirling engines will be used in upcoming years in automobile industry
the interested persons can interact or help me in designing a regenerator, you can also mail me at prashant.cm@gmail.com.
thanking you
prashant

prashant

citivolus
02-11-2005, 10:02 PM
Prashant,
A real quick explanation for those reading who may not be up to speed on regenerators. A regenerator is basically a thermal capacitor and is situated between the hot end and cold end of a stirling cycle machine. It's job is to store the thermal energy of the working gas as it passes from the hot end to the cold end and give that energy back as the gas flows in the other direction.

Regenerators are difficult to optimize because the desired characteristics are hard to blend well and often seem contradictory. Some of those traits are as follows:
Low volume - regenerators are dead space and lower your compression ratio.
High surface area - it needs to transfer thermal energy efficiently and quickly. Area isn't the only way to get a high transfer coefficient but it's easy.
Low flow restriction - the regenerator is the lung of a stirling and it needs to breathe freely.
Thermally long - what I mean is that because it sits between the hot and cold ends it should not conduct a lot of heat between the two.
Thermally narrow - there should be no thermal gradient in directions orthogonal to the flow direction. (Remember that long and narrow tubes have high flow restrictions so that, generally, doesn't work so well.)
A lot more - there are many more little peculiarities that I couldn't even begin to describe here but I think I've touched the biggest players.