PDA

View Full Version : Physical Therapist wants info

Earllaine
01-07-2004, 02:50 PM
Hello,
This is my first time on this or any chat room. I've been reading several of the replies sent by those, who have disabilities and are using the Segway. I would like to know if you have problems maintaining your balance during walking or standing, how has the Segway helped you? OR can it?

Follow up question: I'm not sure I understand or agree with it being called a 'balance enhancer'. i.e. if you can not control your balance forwards or backwards on ground, I wouldn't think you'd be able to control the speed of the Segway. For those of you with balance problems are you able to keep your balance better and manage the speed well?

Thanks for any discussion.

fredkap
01-07-2004, 04:27 PM
Earllaine,

The Segway is a self balancing device. While I don't have balance issues, there is testimony from those that do, that they have remarkable balance on a Segway most poignantly from some who lack balance and can't stand unassisted. Have you been on a Segway? If so for a 3 minute trial or for an extensive trial? Where do you live? We are everywhere!!!

I would be glad to make sure you get to try a Seg.

Fred

jrmiller
01-07-2004, 11:51 PM
Greetings, I would like to talk with you about the balance problem or lack of problem when on the HT. I have had a problem with balance due to Parkinsons and it does not seem to be a limiting facter on its operation. If you would like to contact me or have me contact you , feel free to e-mail or give me your numbver and I;ll call you.

mister_bigtime
01-08-2004, 12:01 PM