PDA

View Full Version : Theft of a Segway / How to keep yours

GlideMaster
11-21-2002, 09:54 AM
IF YOU LIVE IN ONE OF THE BIG CITIES IT COULD BE A PROBLEM!!!!!!!!

Well if you live in the big city you lock your Segway up. There is a whole drilled into the wheel specificlly for a Kryptonite cable lock that Segway sells. That may be well and good for New Hampshire but not for the Real World. But,But,But!!!!!!! I would recommend useing the solid U type Krptonite Lock that they use on bikes. They have one called the New York Krptonite Lock. It can take up to 5 tons of pull. The only problem with the U type Krptonite Lock is I think it might be too thick for the wheel lock hole on the Segway. I'm going to call today to see if it would reduce the tensile strength, integrity, handling or ride characteristics of the Segway if the hole were drilled slightly larger? I would think not as long as it's not much bigger, but I'm no engineer. Then I would see if I could pay to have them mill it a little larger.

I know that the Segway i167 weights about 83lbs, but again in Big City USA they can still take it. The way they do it in Big City USA is they drive by in a van or pickup and throw it in the back and take off. It takes as long as it takes to learn to stand on a Segway (about 15 seconds). It's the same way they take lawn mowers and construction tools when people leave them out for a few minutes unattended.

But we do know one thing. If they take it, there's not a DAM thing they can do with it without the key. I'm sure Segway won't be giving out duplicates without a lot of proof of purchase and that's information the thief won't have; unless he's your neighbor.

And Yes I did order one the first hour.

Not trying to scare but just beware.
[}:)][}:)][}:)];)[}:)][}:)];)[}:)]

<center>REMEMBER:
Responsible Riders Ride Segway
and
Segway Riders Ride Responsibly
Segway, The Mind Changer</center>

GlideMaster
11-22-2002, 12:44 PM