PDA

View Full Version : Manuals and battery charging

Captain_Midnight
12-28-2009, 09:25 PM
I am new to list so sorry if this has already been addressed. I just purchased an almost new X2 and would like to download service manuals and wiring diagrams if available. I am in solar power business and plan to add solar charger to X2, but need more info on the on board batteries and charger.

Any help or re-direct would be appreciated

Bob.Kerns
12-29-2009, 10:42 AM
I am new to list so sorry if this has already been addressed. I just purchased an almost new X2 and would like to download service manuals and wiring diagrams if available. I am in solar power business and plan to add solar charger to X2, but need more info on the on board batteries and charger.

Any help or re-direct would be appreciated

Well, good luck with the service manuals and wiring diagrams! Proprietary, only limited service through dealers, otherwise at factory...

To do solar charging, you will need an inverter, and output 110V. Generally it will draw less than 1A, but some margin would be advisable. You'll need about 1 KWhr for a full charge, as I recall, but depending on your application, a smaller amount of charge (i.e. a recharge for a predictable smaller amount of daily usage) may be acceptable.

There's no physical access to charge the batteries with your own DC charger while connected to the unit. To create one to do so off-board will be considerably more complicated than you might expect; you'd need to reverse-engineer the signalling as well as match the spec'd charging behavior for the underlying Li-Ion cells. Remember, we're talking a large amount of stored energy here, so the safety signalling and limits have to be respected.