PDA

View Full Version : Lateral stability

Seeker
10-21-2002, 12:20 AM
An interesting article has been posted at TIQ, and then ensuing discussion, as it relates to the lateral stability of the Segway.

I'm not an engineer, and dabble in Science, but as I understand it, they are saying that the Segway is stable in the backwards/forwards direction, but not the side to side direction. The implication is that this presents safety issues ( eg hitting a pothole and flying sideways).

What do you guys think, is there a way to reduce the lateral instability of the Segway, while still maintaining its side by side wheel configuration ?

Seeker

Blinky
10-21-2002, 02:07 AM
I'm glad you brought this up, Weskifm would be a good person to answer this one, from experience of course.

GlideMaster
10-21-2002, 12:53 PM
I'll try and answer this later from the book.:)

quote:Originally posted by Blinky

I'm glad you brought this up, Weskifm would be a good person to answer this one, from experience of course.

GlideMaster
10-21-2002, 01:09 PM
Ok I've got a moment. "The Segway HT balances you front to back. You must continue to actively maintain your lateral (right/left) balance, especially during sharp turns at speed. Keeping your knees slightly bent and leaning into turns is the best way to maintain safe lateral balance. Take the time to gain experience using these turning techniques."[^]

quote]Originally posted by Blinky

[/quote]

Blinky
10-22-2002, 02:18 AM
Weskifm writes..
quote:Ok I've got a moment. "The Segway HT balances you front to back. You must continue to actively maintain your lateral (right/left) balance, especially during sharp turns at speed. Keeping your knees slightly bent and leaning into turns is the best way to maintain safe lateral balance. Take the time to gain experience using these turning techniques."
Well this makes sense. I guess you can't just stand on the Segway-HT and expect it to take care of the rest of the ride.