PDA

View Full Version : Hello

ladyshopteacher
07-10-2008, 11:08 PM
I've been researching different options to going to work...I'm off for the summer and thought I'd find out more about segways through this chat. I've learned so much already and am planning on taking an intro ride from a local vendor. I commute about 3 miles and tried riding my bike but too many cars and feel too scared with no protection against the 50mph cars. Everybody seems so nice and helpful. This is my first time on a chat.

wwhopper
07-10-2008, 11:32 PM
Plus your local dealer Segway of Orange County, is top notch, they frequent this board, so make sure you let them know you are a Segway Chat member!

bentbiker
07-10-2008, 11:55 PM
I've been researching different options to going to work...I'm off for the summer and thought I'd find out more about segways through this chat. I've learned so much already and am planning on taking an intro ride from a local vendor. I commute about 3 miles and tried riding my bike but too many cars and feel too scared with no protection against the 50mph cars. Everybody seems so nice and helpful. This is my first time on a chat.
You say you are in OC. That is a pretty big area. If you feel comfortable giving a bit more info, perhaps another user could help you decide.

ladyshopteacher
07-11-2008, 12:33 AM
If you could give me some pointers, I'd appreciate it.

dgbint
07-11-2008, 01:28 AM
Welcome Lady Shop Teacher

Your best bet is to visit one of the local Segway Dealers.
Take a 2 hour Segway Tour.

Realistic expectations are:

#1 You will enjoy it.
#2 Most of your questions will be answered.
#3 If you end up buying one, the dealer is most likely to refund the cost of the tour.

The worst outcome, is you spend a few dollars on the tour, have some fun and don't proceed. That's not too shabby, as the worst case.

Good Luck
Michael

jgbackes
07-11-2008, 01:40 AM
On a totally different subject... What shop class do you teach?

cmonkey
07-11-2008, 11:31 AM