PDA

View Full Version : Am I wrong??

delouia
07-11-2006, 10:10 AM
This is my first time posting here.

I have had my segway I167 for about 3 years now.

My I167 just died last week - it is a crimp in the lower control shaft wire.

Segway no longer produces these wires so will charge me about $1200 to rewire the control shaft with the new wiring. I cannot afford this. I have posted looking for a cs. No one to date has one. less than 3 years and they no longer produce the part.

You may ask why I am posting in this forum. I am disabled - have been for 30 years. I normaly walk with 2 canes. My life changed when i got the segway. I was able to go to places i never had before. Within miles of my home. I live on long island ny and we have some great parks and gardens i was never able to fully enjoy until i got the segway. I rode it in the malls and at craft fairs, in museums, all over. I rode in the rain and the snow.

I rode the segway at my jobs. I work at 2 colleges one with 22 thousand students and rode all over the campus. I would constantly be answering questions about "oh thats cool what is it" and i would answer - Its a segway - check out segway.com

Unless i can find a replacement part from another source I will no longer be a segway customer. I am extremely disapointed in Segway Inc.

vertigo1
07-11-2006, 11:46 AM
Are the wires/cables you're referencing the ones that come from the CSB and have connectors on them to connect to the handlebar pole? (see pictuere). If so, this is a common problem I've seen. It stems from a defect from Segway that allows the handlebars to retract too low and crimp the CSB wires RIGHT AT THE BASE so it's nearly impossible to get to to fix.
That said, it IS possible and I HAVE done it before.