SegwayChat
Home . Old Gallery

Go Back   SegwayChat > Segway Forums > Special Needs, Mobility and Disabled Use

Notices

Special Needs, Mobility and Disabled Use Information and discussion for those with special needs interested in the Segway.

Old 06-03-2013, 12:03 PM   #1
Gimpy guy
Gimpy guy is on a distinguished road

5 yr Member
Default Hello. Why do other disabled people hate Segways ?

Hi,

I'm new to this and saw a thread on a wheelchair website that led me here. I didn't understand why they feel the way they do but they think if someone uses a Segway they are did disabled at all.
A toy they say even after others show pics and stuff. It's amazing as I can't Segway but don't give a hoot if others use them.

Here's the thread. A couple of folks try to defend Segway use but not many.
Opps I'm new and can't post links but the thread is on a place called wheelchair junkie. It very sad how some think.

Thanks, I just don't get it.

Louie
Gimpy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 10:29 AM   #2
Lily Kerns
Lily Kerns will become famous soon enoughLily Kerns will become famous soon enough

5 yr Member HT/PT Owner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gimpy guy View Post
Hi,

I'm new to this and saw a thread on a wheelchair website that led me here. I didn't understand why they feel the way they do but they think if someone uses a Segway they are did disabled at all.
A toy they say even after others show pics and stuff. It's amazing as I can't Segway but don't give a hoot if others use them.

Opps I'm new and can't post links but the thread is on a place called wheelchair junkie. It very sad how some think.

Louie
"Prejudice is being down on something you are not up on." I found this definition many years ago and I think it still holds true. That forum is a specialty form, as is this one and prejudice sometimes appears.