SegwayChat
Home . Photos . Old Gallery

Go Back   SegwayChat > Segway Forums > Segway General Discussion

Notices

Segway General Discussion General discussion related to any model of Segways, miniPROs, or Ninebots. Please do not post non-Segway technology posts here; use the technology forum instead.

Old 02-26-2017, 06:48 PM   #1
Zoelily
First Timer
Zoelily is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1
Default Low speed limit on i2

We bought a used i2 (not SE) that used to be a touring unit. With turtle mode off, it still pushes back at 9.5mph rather than 12. Since it isn't an SE, it doesn't have the ability to set a speed limit. Is it possible for the previous owner to have linked a SE key to it, set a speed limit and then re linked the original key? Is it possible to swap keys like this? It makes sense that a tour operator would want to insure that they can outrun guests, even if they turned off turtle mode. What other reasons might there be for the top speed to be so low?
Zoelily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2017, 10:11 AM   #2
SegNerd
Member
SegNerd will become famous soon enoughSegNerd will become famous soon enough
 
SegNerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Portland
Posts: 652
5 yr Member
Default

Welcome to the forum, and congratulations on your new (to you) Seg.

InfoKeys do indeed have programmable speed limits. It doesn't have anything to do with whether they are SE models. Here is more info:
http://www.segway.com/media/1191/rid...ttings_faq.pdf
__________________
Glider man, Glider man
Rides a Segway that cost five grand.
Rides his toy, near and far
He has no choice, he has no car.
Look out! I am the Glider man.
SegNerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 10:43 AM   #3
allenrohn
First Timer
allenrohn is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: california
Posts: 2
Default

Its top speed is 12.5mph.


all the hoverboard top speed is between the 11-13 mph only.\
This much speed is enough, it will easy for kids also to ride.

And we are not riding the bike, its a electric scooter. just enjoy the rides.
allenrohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2017, 07:37 PM   #4
Don M
Member
Don M is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ocean Springs MS
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SegNerd View Post
InfoKeys do indeed have programmable speed limits. It doesn't have anything to do with whether they are SE models
Was this feature implemented some time after the 2007 model I2's were built?

The procedure does say "New InfoKey controller software" and the procedure does not work on either of my 2007 machines, nor is it mentioned in my owners manual

Don
Don M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2017, 09:45 PM   #5
SegNerd
Member
SegNerd will become famous soon enoughSegNerd will become famous soon enough
 
SegNerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Portland
Posts: 652
5 yr Member
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don M View Post
Was this feature implemented some time after the 2007 model I2's were built?

The procedure does say "New InfoKey controller software" and the procedure does not work on either of my 2007 machines, nor is it mentioned in my owners manual

Don
I was not aware of that, but I think you are correct. It may be limited to newer i2s, but it is not limited to i2 SEs.
__________________
Glider man, Glider man
Rides a Segway that cost five grand.
Rides his toy, near and far
He has no choice, he has no car.
Look out! I am the Glider man.
SegNerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 03:26 PM   #6
MuttonChops
Member
MuttonChops is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bothell, WA U.S.A.
Posts: 125
5 yr Member HT/PT Owner
Default Guess Would Be 2007 Upgrade

Based on hardcopy manuals shipped with my yr-2010 i2, would guess the Programmable Speed Limit software started with yr-2007 builds.

The yr-2010 i2 arrived with:
A) yr-2006 Reference Manual
B) yr-2007 Reference Manual Supplement that only discusses the InfoKey Speed and shutdown options.
Zoelily has not stated what year i2 they purchased or indicated if the Programmable Speed Limit procedure link solved the problem.

If the i2 is pushing back at 9.5 MPH under all gliding conditions (with factory size wheels/tires) then it sure sounds like it is a >= 2007 i2 with the Speed Limit set.

The Reference Manual (page-49) does have additional non-InfoKey suggestions for lower speed limiting . . . however, I'd expect these causes to result in variable maximum speed push-backs, not a solid 9.5 MPH.


The speed at which the Speed Limiter pushes the Handlebar back depends on a variety of factors including riding style, terrain, payload, whether or not the Beginner Setting is enabled, Battery condition, foot positioning, and other factors.

Conditions that may cause the Speed Limiter to activate and show the face icon with the straight mouth along with the Warning icon, when you are traveling at less than the maximum speed allowed for your operating mode include:

􀁺 Riding up a steep hill
􀁺 Riding on bumpy terrain
􀁺 Riding with fewer than three Rider Detect Sensors
depressed
􀁺 The first few seconds after you power on and step on the
Powerbase
􀁺 Low Battery charge
􀁺 Batteries that are too hot or too cold
􀁺 Riding down a hill with fully charged Batteries
Because of regenerative charging, if the Batteries are fully
charged, the Segway PT will activate the Speed Limiter to
avoid overcharging.


= = = =
10,500 Gliding Miles since Dec-2010
MuttonChops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 10:41 PM   #7
Don M
Member
Don M is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ocean Springs MS
Posts: 104
Default

Both of my machines are 2007 models which came with the 2006 dated manuals with no addendum for the speed limiting feature. The speed adjustment does not work with either of my machines, so . . . . I assume the change was made somewhere closer to the 2008 models and not the 2007's

Don
Don M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 03:37 PM   #8
Don M
Member
Don M is on a distinguished road
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Ocean Springs MS
Posts: 104
Default

It must be based on the programming. I bought a spare InfoKey which does have the speed limit feature. Other than the Serial Number being about 100,000 newer than my other two keys, all of the part numbers and every other number on the back of the keys is the same

I won't know if my 2007 machines will respond to the speed limit feature unless I one day need to have my spare key programmed to work on one of my Segs

Don
Don M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:47 PM.
Copyright 2002-2017 SegwayChat.org.
All rights reserved. Not affiliated with Segway Inc.

FreshBlue vBulletin skin by
VayaDesign
Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SegwayChat Archive