SegwayChat

SegwayChat (https://forums.segwaychat.org/index.php)
-   Special Needs, Mobility and Disabled Use (https://forums.segwaychat.org/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Advice Please-Balance Issues (https://forums.segwaychat.org/showthread.php?t=31725)

bdtbaltimore 02-16-2013 04:06 AM

Advice Please-Balance Issues

My name is Brent, I am a disabled law student living in Gulfport, FL, which is basically right by St. Pete's Beach, in St. Petersburg obviously. I have a spinal cord injury that results in my walking with a cane and a limp. I have 30% use of my left leg and 80% use of my right leg. Balance can be an issue for me as well as walking distances. I recently totaled my truck and really am interested in getting a Segway. My concern is that my balance issues would prevent me from riding a Segway. Is this the case? Does anyone else have these issues and what are your experiences? Also, I was considering a seated Segway, but don't want to have to invest the extra money if it's unnecessary. So does below average to poor balance prevent one from being able to properly operate the machine? And also, I can stand, but would prefer to sit. So is the seated option a worthy one? Thanks everyone for your time, and I hope someone can help me with a response. Take care.

KSagal 02-19-2013 07:15 PM

Brent,

I would offer that each and every case is different, and that what you consider a 30% loss of use in one leg, another may call something else.
I have a 30% loss of use in one knee, as an example, due to an old army injury. However, most days, you cannot tell. My wife says my limp is absorbed by my swagger. (Some days, my swagger is more pronounced )

My loss manifests itself with 'bad' days, where I cannot climb stairs, or days when I am walking along fine, and my knee just lets go, and I fall to the ground. (Has happened on the stairs a couple times, not fun...)